This Month's MagazineDining and SpiritsArts and EntertainmentTravel and LeisureHome and Real EstateHealth and WellnessShopping & FashionEvents and PicsElegant Wedding Magazine

Bookmark and share

Issue Date: February 2014


Single in the City: Laura Volpini

Laura Volpini, 36, Attorney

Hidden talent: I'm a ballroom dancer. I dance every week and compete a few times each year.

Biggest fear: I believe in God and he's going to take care of everything, so I don't really have a lot of fear.

My bad habit: I have a hard time saying "no." And I am a diehard people-pleaser.

My guilty pleasure: I do not walk my dogs. I drive them around and take them on car rides. These are planned car rides. I have two [dogs], a Pekingese toy poodle named Cesar and a Yorkshire terrier toy poodle named Brutus.

You'd never guess: How good I am at football. I played in the Cleveland Sport and Social Club [Cleveland Plays] league for a little over 10 years. I tore my ACL in 2009 and had to retire.

I can't live without: My iPhone. Or my gym workouts.

My hero: My mom. She came from Italy when she was 17, married my dad six weeks later without speaking the language and she managed to become a very successful, very reputable real estate professional.

On my bucket list: I would like to go hiking at the Grand Canyon.

Biggest accomplishment: Starting my three businesses in one year.

When I'm not working: I have a 5-year-old son, so he's my first priority. I'm very involved in my church and I spend a lot of time either volunteering at the church or in [the] gym. I'm a foodie, so I like to frequent restaurants.

Find me here on a Saturday night: I would either be at a salsa club dancing or I'd be at my favorite restaurant, Dante in Tremont, enjoying an awesome dinner.

If I had one wish: My dad's in a wheelchair and if I had one wish I think I'd ask for him to walk again.

Once-in-a-lifetime moment: Graduating from law school and getting my MBA on the same day — a double graduation of sorts.

On death row, my last meal would be: It would be gnocchi in red sauce — my mom's red sauce — and meatballs.

If I won the Mega Millions, I'd spend it on: I'm a saver so I would probably save quite a bit of it, whether it's for myself or my son. I'd make a sizeable contribution to my church, and other than that I would just pray and ask God to direct me in what's the best use of the money. I have everything I need right now. Could I have a fancier house and car? Sure, but I don't need anything. The other thing I would do if I won the Mega Millions is to move my family closer to me so we could all be together, since we're scattered.

My No. 1 dating rule: On a date, he can't get drunk. The guy can't smoke cigarettes and the guy cannot chew tobacco. I guess that's three.

Deal-breakers: They can't be a Debbie Downer. Maybe we should say a Donnie Downer.

The perfect date: I like activity, so I would say some sort of sport-related activity.

I'm a sucker for: I'm a sucker for someone who is witty.

Most romantic thing you've ever done: I'm waiting for the most romantic thing.

What I look for in a significant other: I look for someone who is motivated, mentally strong, secure and who has a servant heart and strong faith in God.

Celebrity dream date: Maksim Chmerkovskiy from Dancing With the Stars. Dinner and a waltz or a tango after would be fine!

Celebrity look-alike: Most often I get Sandra Bullock, though I don't believe it. During a trial, one time a juror told me I look like Sandra Bullock in Two Weeks Notice. That's what she was paying attention to — not the evidence.

Dogs or cats: Dogs.

Beach or mountains: Both. My grandparents live in Italy and they live in the mountains, but the beach is only 30 minutes away. The best of both worlds.

Signature dish: A gnocchi dish in an olive oil sauce with chicken, hot sausage, peppers, lots of herbs and Parmesan cheese.

How I stay healthy: I eat right and exercise. And I encourage other people to do it as well. I have a Facebook page where I promote fitness-related things for free to my friends and followers. Strength training is No. 1, so I usually do three days of strength training, lifting weights, and three days of cardio [per week].

Favorite ... love story: I don't think I've ever heard one. I don't have a favorite. ... book: The Bible. ... TV show: Grey's Anatomy. ... movie: Pretty Woman, Julia Roberts classic. ... blog: I don't have one, really. ... music: Anything with a good dance beat. ... restaurant: Dante in Tremont. ... app: I think Facebook's my favorite app. It's what I use the most.

What I'm reading: Ohio case law. That's really what I'm reading.

iPod embarrassment: I have "Cupid Shuffle," which is that Chuck E. Cheese song.

I'm so over: I'm tired of selfish. I just think people need to stop being so selfish.

Dream job: Mine. I have it.

Dream vacation: The French Riviera.

Best date I've been on: I was actually in Italy. I was much younger and I met a young Italian guy and he took me out for dinner. And then we strolled the shopping district and then the beach [of Tortoreto]. I was just really nice, beautiful, romantic. That was really it. And the guy was really good looking. That always helps. And I was young — that always helps too. Young and impressionable.

Worst date I've been on: I went on a date and the guy brought his girlfriend. That's harsh.


Comments. All comments must be approved by our editorial staff.
 
Choose an identity
Other Anonymous
 
Name 
Website 
All of these fields are optional.
CAPTCHA Validation
Retype the code from the picture
CAPTCHA Code Image
Speak the code Change the code
 


Home | Subscribe | Archives | Advertise | Newsstands | Contact Us | Jobs | Legal
© Cleveland Magazine 2014 | P: (216) 771-2833 | F: (216) 781-6318 | 1422 Euclid Ave. Suite 730 Cleveland, Ohio 44115
This site is a member of the City & Regional Magazine Association